Tonight our annual A Level awards ceremony has taken place with an array of winners and special guests.

The Silverdale Student Hub was transformed into a spectacular venue to warmly welcome back a large number of our A Level students who left this summer and have since gone on to some prestigious destinations across the country, including Sheffield, Durham, Lancaster, Oxford, Cambridge and UCLan. Many parents and relatives also attended as our guests. Our former students received special awards, subject awards and their A Level certificates.

Congratulations to all our winners:

BUSINESS & LAW: Charlee Anfield, Matthew Sexton, Monty Lord and Zamry Rizwan
DIGITAL TECHNOLOGIES: James McDermott and Jody Winder
ENGLISH & MFL: Zoe Mainon, Milly Haworth, Cerys Shanks, Owen Aspey, Eva Puddy, Minnie Hodgson and Luc Forsyth
HUMANITIES: Charmaine Benito, Harrison Coates, Harry Gallacher, Nikola Nawrocka, Nick Ball, Alisdair Thompson, Nzeru Selassie, Will Crompton and Milly Haworth
MATHS: Owen Jenkinson, Jasmine De Goede and Charlotte Chan-Wenske
MMPA: Miles Berry, Ellie McManus, Riley-James Bulcock, Matthew Titterington, Holly Blakeley and Victoria Walsh
SCIENCE: Sarah Hardman, Patricia Simion, Euan Baldwin, Matthew Mather and James White
SOCIAL SCIENCE: Ella Thompson, Zamry Rizwan, Chloe Worth, Emily Hibberd and Benjamin Sachs
SPORT: Leah Monk and Niamh O’Leary
VISUAL ARTS: Luc Forsyth, Madeleine McFaul, Kiera Toner, Alicia Lewis, Josh Brett and Tilly McNaught

The Mayor of South Ribble Cllr Chris Lomax was also in attendance. Assistant Principal Vanessa Harwood was our fabulous compère for the evening and Principal Clare Russell introduced the evening’s events.

The Ralph Hope STEM Award was awarded to both Eleanor Armstrong and Harry Boardman. The Contribution to Student Community award was won by Charlie Hall, and Owen Aspey won the Governor’s Excellence Award. Our student of the year was Georgia Doherty – congratulations on this prestigious award. Zamry Rizwan also spoke on behalf of the student body, delivering a great speech in front of his peers. During the evening we were entertained by our excellent performances from Runshaw’s Music Band and Orchestra and other highly talented student musicians. The ceremony also included drinks, festive canapés and photos. It was a wonderful evening and a fantastic opportunity for us to show how proud we are of the achievements of our A Level students – we wish you all continued success for your future.

As always, the event organisation was a great cross-college team effort; from subject teams and pastoral mentors providing nominations, staff registering students on arrival, the organising of seating and prompting students and VIPs on the evening, to cleaning, decorating and security – thank you very much to all those involved. Finally, we would like to wish everyone a Merry Christmas and a happy and prosperous New Year!

You can see some of our wonderful student destinations from our Class of 2023 here. You can also keep up to date with all of our Alumni students on our Alumni Facebook Page and LinkedIn Alumni Page.

STEM Assured Runshaw Scholars